Home > news > Press Releases

Brat, Adams Inquire about SBA Support for HBCU Entrepreneurs

f t # e
Spotsylvania, March 1, 2018 | Juliana Heerschap (202-225-2815) | comments
Washington, D.C.— Congressman Dave Brat (R-VA) and Congresswoman Alma Adams (D-NC), members of the Small Business Committee, sent a letter to the U.S. Comptroller General Gene Dodaro this week requesting that he instruct the Government Accountability Office (GAO) to investigate whether Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) are receiving adequate support from the Small Business Administration (SBA) to help develop successful entrepreneurs. The letter requests that the GAO review: SBA outreach procedures, the number of SBA research partners associated with HBCUs and the services they provide, SBA outreach to HBCUs specifically, and the benefits this outreach has yielded thus far.

“HBCUs train a disproportionate number of African American entrepreneurs who go on to start small businesses and create economic opportunity and growth in their communities,” said Congresswoman Adams. “It’s imperative that these entrepreneurs have access to the support and tools necessary to become successful business owners. As co-chair of the Bipartisan HBCU Caucus and Vice-Ranking Member of the Small Business Committee, I’m committed to ensuring that HBCUs and the students they serve have the resources they need to succeed in today’s economy.

“Virginia is home to three Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). These HBCUs provide a higher education foundation for their graduates to then return to their communities as leaders to start businesses and produce economic opportunity,” said Congressman Brat. “As a member of the House Small Business Committee, I am proud to co-lead this letter to the Government Accountability Office to request they examine how the Small Business Administration is strategically working with HBCUs to promote small businesses and entrepreneurship.”

The letter was signed by 18 additional members of Congress including: Gregory Meeks (D-NY), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Al Lawson (D-FL), Bennie Thompson (D-MS, Terri Sewell (D-AL), Hank Johnson, Jr. (D-IL), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE), Bradley Byrne (R-AL), Andre Carson (D-IN), Cedric Richmond (D-LA), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), David Price (D-NC), Don Beyer, Jr. (D-VA), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Trent Kelly (R-MS), Seth Moulton (D-MA), John Lewis (D-GA), and Yvette Clarke (D-NY).

A copy of the letter can be viewed here.
f t # e

Find My Offices

Select the office you wish to contact

U.S. House of Representatives