Home > news > Press Releases

Rep. Brat Votes on Immigration Enforcement Legislation

f t # e
Washington, June 30, 2017 | Juliana Heerschap (202-225-2815) | comments
WASHINGTON - On June 29, 2017 the House of Representatives voted to pass two key pieces of immigration legislation introduced by Judiciary Chairman Bob Goodlatte.

Rep. Brat (R-Va.) voted to pass H.R. 3003, the No Sanctuary for Criminals Act which will strengthen current law and combat policies that shield unlawful and criminal immigrants from federal immigration enforcement. The House also passed with Rep. Brat’s support H.R. 3004, Kate’s law enhances penalties for deported felons who reenter the United States. This bill is named after Kate Steinle who was shot in San Francisco by an illegal alien who had been deported five times and possessed multiple felony convictions. The illegal alien had been released by San Francisco authorities prior to shooting Kate.

Rep. Brat issued the following statement:

“It is unacceptable for federal immigration laws to go unenforced without repercussions. We must end dangerous sanctuary city policies. Illegal aliens with multiple felony convictions should never be released back into our communities. By passing this legislation, the House is delivering on the promises of President Trump. There are too many tragic stories of innocent Americans killed by illegal aliens with extensive criminal records.

More work is needed to improve and reform our immigration system, but these two bills are a first step to promote the safety and security of our local communities. This week it was encouraging to hear Speaker Ryan commit to passing all five of Chairman Goodlatte’s immigration reform bills. The Speaker also committed passing legislation to build the wall and for tougher border enforcement. I hope the Senate will make passage of President Trump’s immigration proposals a priority and we can quickly get them to President Trump’s desk to be signed into law.”
f t # e

Find My Offices

Select the office you wish to contact

U.S. House of Representatives